Twenty four other states have already passed laws requiring insurance coverage of children’s hearing aids. Efforts are underway in at least twelve more.
Quick Link: All State Insurance Mandates for Hearing Aids HERE.
*A legislation requiring that each individual, group, and blanket health insurance contract, provide:
*coverage per individual hearing aid, per ear for children covered as a dependent by the policy holder;
*minimum $1,500 up to $3,000 per hearing impaired ear, every 36 months, for hearing aids for children up to age 18;
*coverage to include fitting and dispensing services, including providing ear molds as necessary to maintain optimal fit;
*the option for the insured to choose a higher priced hearing aid and pay the difference in cost; and
*the requirement that hearing aids be prescribed and dispensed by a licensed audiologist.
Financial impact of hearing aid coverage:
Sample research on existing states with hearing aid insurance bills and the financial impact to residents is below. Note: Price differences are a result of states having varying coverage amounts, age limits covered, etc.Nevertheless, the benefit often costs less than a penny a day.
North Carolina: $.39 cents annual increase in insurance premium on insured residents. Click here for details.
Wisconsin: $0.17 cents per privately insured person, per month for both hearing aids and cochlear implants.
Virginia: $0.42 to $1.20 median estimate increase on health insurance premiums for standard and group optional coverage.
California: $0.03 average per member per month health insurance premium increase. Click here for details.